Tuesday, 13 July 2010

Solaris scores a win at the Shirley Jackson Awards.

From the Press Release...

Oxford, UK: Solaris Books are happy to confirm that Poe: 19 New Tales Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe, edited by Ellen Datlow, won the coveted Shirley Jackson Award for ‘Edited Anthology 2009’announced at Readercon 20 last night.

The Shirley Jackson Awards are given in recognition of the best imaginative fiction work published in the preceding year. They are named after Shirley Jackson, author of The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous American short stories ‘The Lottery.’ Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work.

Poe: 19 New Tales Inspired by Edgar Allen Poe coincided with the 200th anniversary of the birth of Edgar Allan Poe. This anthology celebrates the depth and diversity of one of the most important figures in literature. Compiled by multi-award winning editor, Ellen Datlow, it presents some of the foremost talents of the genre, who have come together to re-imagine tales inspired by Poe.
Sharyn McCrumb, Lucius Shepard, Pat Cadigan, M. Rickert, Gregory Frost, Kim Newman
and more, have leant their craft to this anthology, retelling such classics as ‘The Fall of the House of Usher’, ‘The Tell-Tale Heart’ and ‘The Masque of the Red Death.’

Congratulations to Ellen Datlow and Solaris! I wouldn't mind reading this...


Datlow said...

Nothing's stopping you :-)

Graeme Flory said...

You're half right ;o) There's a ten week old little girl in my house who has the power of veto on whether I read anything at all at the moment!